17 1908 . . Southfield, Surrey
9 1973 . . Bodenham, Salisbury, Wiltshire

MBE (Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire)


, [The Famine, (n.) London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1967, 188pp, hc] (* )

, [The Flood, (n.) London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1956, 190pp, pb] (* )

, [The Plague of Silence, (n.) London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1958, 188pp, hc] (* )


Department Z
The Death Miser (London: Andrew Melrose, 1933) (London: Arrow Books, 1965)
The Mark of the Crescent (London: Andrew Melrose, 1935) (London: John Long, 1970)
Death Round the Corner (London: Andrew Melrose, 1935) (London: John Long, 1971)

Thunder in Europe (London: Andrew Melrose, 1936) (London: John Long, 1970)
Carriers of Death (London: Andrew Melrose, 1937) (New York: Popular Library, 1958)
Days of Danger (London: Andrew Melrose, 1937) (London: John Long, 1970)
Death Stands By (London: John Long, 1938) (London: Arrow, 1966)
Menace! (London: John Long, 1938) (London: John Long, 1972)
Panic! (London: John Long, 1939) (London: Jay Books, 1958)
Death by Night (London: John Long, 1940) (London: John Long, 1971)
The Island of Peril (London: John Long, 1940) (London: Arrow, 1968)
The Peril Ahead (London: Stanley Paul and Co, 1940) (London: John Long, 1969)
Dark Peril (London: Stanley Paul and Co, 1944) (London: John Long, 1969)
The League of Dark Men (London: Stanley Paul and Co, 1947) (London: Arrow Books, 1965)
Department of Death (London: Evans Brothers, 1949)

Dr Palfrey
Traitors' Doom (London: John Long, 1942)
The Valley of Fear (London: John Long, 1943)
The Perilous Country (London: Arrow, 1962)
The Legion of the Lost (London: John Long, 1943)
Dangerous Quest (London: John Long, 1944) (London: John Long 1965)
The Hounds of Vengeance (London: John Long, 1945) (London: Arrow, 1967)
Death in the Rising Sun (London: John Long, 1945) (London: Arrow, 1970)
Shadow of Doom (London: John Long, 1946) (London: Arrow, 1970)
The House of the Bears (London: John Long, 1946) (London: Arrow, 1962)
Dark Harvest (London: John Long, 1947) (London: Arrow, 1962)
Sons of Satan (London: John Long, 1948) (London: Arrow, 1970)
The Wings of Peace (London: John Long, 1948) (London: Arrow, 1964)
The Dawn of Darkness (London: John Long, 1949)
The League of Light (London: Evans Brothers, 1949) (London: Arrow, 1963)
The Man Who Shook the World (London: Evans Brothers, 1950) (London: Arrow, 1963)
The Prophet of Fire (London: Evans Brothers, 1951)
The Children of Hate (London: Evans Brothers, 1952) The Children of Despair (London: Jay Books, 1958) The Killers of Innocence (New York: Walker, 1971)
The Touch of Death (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1954)
The Mists of Fear (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1955)
The Drought (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1959)
Dry Spell (London: New English Library, 1967)
The Terror (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1962) (New York: Walker, 1966)
The Depths (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1963)
The Sleep (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1964)
The Inferno (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1965)
The Blight (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1968)
The Oasis (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1969)
The Smog (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1970)
The Unbegotten (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1971)
The Insulators (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1972)
The Voiceless Ones (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1973)
The Thunder-Maker (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1976)
The Whirlwind (London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1979)

Patrick Dawlish
A Shadow of Death (London: John Long, 1968)
A Scream of Murder (London: John Long, 1969)

individual titles
Seven Times Seven (London: Andrew Melrose, 1932) (London: John Long, 1971)
Men, Maids and Murder (London: Andrew Melrose, 1933) (London: John Long, 1973)
The Mystery 'plane (London: Sampson Low, Marston, 1936)
The Air Marauders (London: Sampson Low, Marston, 1937)
The S.O.S. Flight (London: Sampson Low, Marston, 1937)
The Fighting Fliers (London: Sampson Low, Marston, 1938)
Death in Flames (London: John Long, 1943) as by Gordon Ashe (London: Corgi Books, 1973) as by Gordon Ashe
The Black Spiders (London: Transworld Publishers, 1957)
A Shadow of Death: A Crime Haters Story (London: John Long, 1968) as by Gordon Ashe
A Blast of Trumpets (London: John Long, 1975) as by Gordon Ashe